General information


Population and major cities
Malaysia consists of two geographical regions divided by the South China Sea: The Peninsular Malaysia on the Malay Peninsula bordered by Thailand on the north, and The Malaysian Borneo located on the northern part of the island Borneo. Malaysia has an estimated population of 30.073.353 (2016) with a growth rate of 1,51%. The capital city is Kuala Lumpur which has over 1.5 million residents. The other major cities are Subang Jaya, Klang, Johor Bahru and Ampang Jaya.

The official language
The official language of Malaysia is Bahasa Malaysia, but the different ethnic groups in Malaysia also speak Chinese, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Panjabi and Thai.

Religion and culture
The major religion in Malaysia is the Islam with 61,3% of the citizens as its followers. The other religions in Malaysia are Buddhists with 9,2% of the population, Christians with 6,3%, Chinese religions with 1,3% and Atheists with 0,7%.

Malaysia is a parliamentary democracy with a federal constitutional monarchy. The Paramount Ruler, commonly referred to as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, is the head of state as well as the leader of the Islamic faith in Malaysia. This monarch is selected for a five-year term from among their own number by the nine hereditary rulers (sultans) of Peninsular Malaysia.

Malaysia has undertaken structural reforms to enhance the entrepreneurial environment. Here are some statistics about the Malaysian economy.
GDP: 746.1 billion dollars (2016)
Unemployment rate: 3,4% (2016)
Labour force: 67,8% (2016)
Inflation rate: 1,5% (2016)
Currency and Exchange rate: Malaysian Ringgit. 1 MYR = 0,24 USD (2016)

National holidays
New Year’s Day: 1st January
Chinese lunar new year: 8th Febuary
Labour Day: 1st May
Wesak Day: 21st May
National Day: 31st August
Muhurram/New Year: 2nd October
Mohammads’s Birthday: 12th December
Christmas Day: 25th December